About Armenia
Armenia information
Map of Armenia
Armenian History
First Christian Nation
Armenia Nature
Armenian Government
Armenian Economy
Republic of Nagorno-Karabakh
Wonders of Armenia
Ararat - Holy Mountain
Cradle of Civilization
Ancient Manuscripts
Armenian Apricot
Armenian Brandy
Visitor Information
References about Armenia
Famous people about Armenia
Tourist Feedback 2015
Tourist Feedback 2014
Tourist Feedback 2013
Tourist Feedback 2012
Tourist Feedback 2011
Tourist Feedback 2010
Tourist Feedback 2009
Tourist Feedback 2008
Tourist Feedback 2007
Tourist Feedback 2005-2006
National and Religious Holidays
Musaler feast
Myrrh Blessing
Forever Armenia
Yerevan Weather
Exchange Rates
Time in Yerevan
  22/02/2018   9:13

 Armenian Government
Share |

The Constitution
The Constitution of the Republic of Armenia adopted on July 5, 1995 with changes in 2005 proclaims that the Republic of Armenia is a sovereign, democratic, social state governed by rule of law. In the Republic of Armenia the power belongs to the people. The Constitution envisions a system of checks and balances between the executive and legislative branches of power.

The President:
The President of the Republic of Armenia is the head of the state and the guarantor of the independence, territorial integrity and security of the Republic of Armenia. The President is the Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces of the Republic of Armenia. The President appoints the Prime Minister - a person enjoying the confidence of the majority of MPs. The Constitution assigns other rights and responsibilities to the President.

The Current President is Mr. Serzh Sargsyan, since April 9, 2008.

The National Assembly:
The legislative power in the Republic of Armenia is vested in 131-member National Assembly.

The National Assembly adopts the state budget upon its submission by the Government and oversees the implementation of the state budget.

Upon the recommendation of the President of Republic the National Assembly:

1) declares amnesty;

2) ratifies, suspends or denounces the international treaties of the Republic of Armenia.
The National Assembly ratifies those international treaties:
a) which are of political or military nature or stipulate changes of the state borders,
b) which relate to human rights, freedoms and obligations,
c) which stipulate financial commitments for the Republic of Armenia,
d) application of which shall bring about legislative amendments or adoption of a new law, or stipulate norms contravening the laws,
e) which prescribe ratification,
f) in other cases defined by law.

3) resolves on declaring war and proclaiming peace.

The National Assembly may express no confidence in the Government by a majority vote of the total number of the Deputies.

The Constitution assigns other rights and responsibilities to the National Assembly.

The Government:
The Government develops and implements the internal policy of the Republic of Armenia. The Government develops and implements the foreign policy of the Republic of Armenia jointly with the President of the Republic.

The Government comprises the Prime Minister and the Ministers.

Judicial Power:
In the Republic of Armenia justice is administered solely by the courts in accordance with the Constitution and the laws.

The courts operating in the Republic of Armenia are the first instance court of general jurisdiction, the courts of appeal, the Court of Cassation, as well as specialized courts in cases prescribed by the law. The highest court instance in the Republic of Armenia, except for matters of constitutional justice, is the Court of Cassation, which ensures uniformity in the implementation of the law.

The Constitutional Court administers the constitutional justice in the Republic of Armenia.

Territorial Administration
Armenia is divided into 10 marzes (provinces) and Yerevan - the capital City. Government-appointed Marzpets (Governors) govern the marzes. On a lower level, the local government is organized into urban and rural communities. Community heads and local council members are elected by people, community members, for three-year terms.

© 2005 - 2014 All rights reserved.